About This Project

Georges Antoine ROCHEGROSSE
(Paris, 1877 – Paris, 1951)

 

Tribute to Pharaoh

Oil on mahogany panel

Signed lower right

46 x 31,5 cm

 

Soon abandoned by his father, by the remarriage of his mother, he became the son-in law of Théodore de Banville. In this new family, intellectual and artistic circles, he first received the advice of Alfred Dehodencq. Then, twelve years old, at the Académie Julian, he was a pupil of Gustave Boulanger and Jules Lefebvre. Later he became himself an art teacher at the Académie Julian. While enjoying more liberal teaching of the Académie Julian, he entered the School of Fine Arts, where he was twice contest the Prix de Rome. In 1883, obtaining the Prix de Rome gave him a stay in Italy. In the following, he travelled in Belgium, Holland, Germany. Around 1890, Rochegrosse bound his life to that of Marie Leblond, who was his great love and model of the heroines of his paintings for thirty years. From 1900, Rochegrosse and Marie spent the winter months in El-Biar, on the heights of the Bay of Algiers, where the painter often found oriental decor of his compositions. In 1920, Miriam died; Rochegrosse sought appeasement with the Theosophical Society of France. In 1937, a year before his death, Rochegrosse married Antoinette Arnau. He died in El-Biar, his body was transferred to the Montparnasse cemetery in Paris.

He started at the Salon of French Artists in 1882, with Vitellius dragged through the streets of Rome by the populace; received medals, third class in 1882, and the second class and Exhibition Award in 1883, he became an associate in 1887, bronze in 1889 for the Universal Exhibition, Medal of Honor in 1906, officer of the Legion of Honor in 1910. He was a permanent member of jury of the Salon. He also participated in the Salon of the French Watercolourists Society . In Algeria, he participated in the activities of the Salon of Algerian and Orientalist Artists, in the North Africa Artistic Union, in the Professional Union of  Algerians Artists.

In the seventy years, he contributed to the journal La Vie Moderne of Emile Bergerat and other periodicals, including La Vie Parisienne. Rightly exploiting his narrative facilities and indisputable expertise, he illustrated literary works. In the same narrative vein, he also made murals for the stairs of the Library of the Sorbonne.

Growing up in the shadow of the Parnassus literary, venturing in the footsteps of Delacroix, in a first period, he dealt with subjects taken from Egyptian, Roman, Byzantine civilizations, where Banville helped replenish authentic details. The end of this period was marked by the huge success he obtained at the Salon with The Death of Babylon. Banville died in 1891, Rochegrosse was passionate for the Wagnerian mythology and painted: Meistersinger, Tannhäuser and Parsifal inspired him The Knight of Flowers. In a subsequent period, he treated allegorical themes: The Race to happiness, The Struggle for the ideal, Out of the sea of mud, and re-established with dramatic subject to historical foundation: The Assassination of Emperor Geta, Fire of Persepolis. Throughout his life with Marie Leblond, she was turn into empress, goddess, but also the simple model of small intimate paintings, which were only discovered at the dispersion of Rochegrosse studio. From 1900 and for winter stays in El-Biar, Rochegrosse loved choose topics favorable to exploiting the oriental landscapes where he lived. After the death of Mary, Rochegrosse devoted his talent to religious subjects and allegories of love.

His fame was international, to the extent of the ambition of his great historical compositions, mythological or literary. Conan Doyle, in Sherlock Holmes, praised one of his paintings.

 

Museums : Alger, Amiens, Grenoble (Mus. of Fine Arts), Leipzig, Lille (Mus. of Fine Arts), Montpellier (Fabre Mus.), Moulins, Mulhouse, Paris (Orsay Mus.), Paris (Victor Hugo Mus. ), Rouen, Sens…

 

Purchased by the Anne de Beaujeu Museum of Moulins

Category
E - H, Paintings, ROCHEGROSSE, Scene genre

About This Project

Georges Antoine ROCHEGROSSE
(Paris, 1877 – Paris, 1951)

 

Hommage au pharaon

Huile sur panneau d’acajou

Signé en bas à droite

46 x 31,5 cm

 

Peintre d’histoire, sujets mythologiques, scènes allégoriques, scènes de genre, figures, nus, portraits, intérieurs, paysages, peintre de compositions murales, aquarelliste, illustrateur, affichiste, peintre de décors de théâtre, cartons de tapisseries, décorateur, orientaliste.

Tôt abandonné par son père, par le remariage de sa mère il devint le beau-fils e Théodore de Banville. Dans ce nouveau milieu familial, intellectuel et artistique, il reçu d’abord les conseils d’Alfred Dehodencq. Puis, âgé de douze ans, à l’Académie Julian, il fut élève de Gustave Boulanger et de Jules Lefebvre. Plus tard, il devint lui-même professeur de dessin à l’Académie Julian. Tout en profitant de l’enseignement plus libéral de l’Académie Julian, il entra à l’école des Beaux-Arts, où il fut par deux fois logiste au concours du Prix de Rome. En 1883, le prix du Salon lui permit un séjour en Italie. Dans la suite, il voyagea en Belgique, Hollande, Allemagne. Vers 1890, Rochegrosse lia sa vie à celle de Marie Leblond, qui fut son grand amour et le modèle des héroïnes de ses peintures pendant une trentaine d’années. A partir de 1900, Rochegrosse et Marie passaient les mois d’hivers à El-Biar, sur les hauteurs de la baie d’Alger, où le peintre trouvait souvent les décors orientaux de ses compositions. En 1920, mourut Marie ; Rochegrosse chercha l’apaisement auprès de la Société Théosophique de France. En 1937, un an avant sa mort, Rochegrosse épousa Antoinette Arnau. Il mourut à El-Biar, son corps fut transféré au cimetière Montparnasse à Paris.

Il débuta au Salon des Artistes Français en 1882, avec Vitellius traîné dans les rues de Rome par la populace ; reçut des médailles, de troisième classe en 1882, de deuxième classe et le Prix du Salon en 1883, il en devint sociétaire en 1887, médaille de bronze en 1889 pour l’Exposition Universelle, médaille d’honneur en 1906, officier de la Légion d’honneur en 1910. Il était membre permanent du jury du Salon. Il participa aussi au Salon de la Société des Aquarellistes Français. En Algérie, il participait aux activités du Salon des Artistes Algériens et Orientalistes, à l’Union Artistique de l’Afrique du Nord, au Syndicat Professionnel des Artistes Algériens.

Dans les années soixante-dix, il collabora à la revue La Vie Moderne d’Emile Bergerat et à d’autres périodiques, dont La Vie Parisienne. Exploitant à juste titre ses facilités narratives et un savoir-faire indiscutable, il a illustré des ouvrages littéraires, dont : en 1889 L’Oreste d’Eschyle, 1892 Hérodias de Flaubert, 1900 Salammbô de Flaubert, 1901 Trois légendes d’or, d’argent et de cuivre de J. Doucert, 1905 Akëdysséril de Villiers de l’Isle-Adam, 1909 Le Satyricon de Pétrone, et encore L’Homme qui rit , Han d’Islande, Les Misérables d’Hugo, Princesses de Théophile Gauthier, Les Egarements du Prince Demiroff, etc. Dans la même veine narrative, il a aussi réalisé des compositions murales pour l’escalier de la Bibliothèque de la Sorbonne.

Ayant grandi à l’ombre du Parnasse littéraire, s’aventurant sur les traces de Delacroix, dans une première période, il traitait des sujets tirés des civilisations égyptienne, romaine, byzantine, pour lesquels Banville l’aidait à reconstituer les détails authentiques. La fin de cette période fut marquée par l’énorme succès qu’il obtint au Salon avec La Mort de Babylone. Banville étant mort en 1891, Rochegrosse se passionna pour la mythologie wagnérienne et peignit : Les Maîtres Chanteurs, Tannhäuser, et Parsifal lui inspira Le Chevalier aux fleurs. Dans une période suivante, il traita des thèmes allégoriques : La Course au bonheur, La Lutte pour l’idéal, Hors de la mer de boue, et renoua avec les sujets dramatiques à fondement historique : L’Assassinat de l’empereur Géta, L’Incendie de Persépolis. Au long de sa vie commune avec Marie Leblond, celle-ci fut tour à tour impératrice, déesse, femme fatale, mais aussi le simple modèle de petits tableaux intimistes, qui ne furent découverts qu’à la dispersion de l’atelier de Rochegrosse. A partir de 1900 et des séjours d’hivers à El-Biar, Rochegrosse aima choisir des sujets propices à exploiter les décors orientaux où il vivait. Après la mort de Marie, Rochegrosse consacra son talent à des sujets religieux et des allégories de l’amour.

Sa renommée fut internationale, à la mesure de l’ambition de ses grandes compositions historiques, mythologiques ou littéraires. Conan Doyle, dans Sherlock Holmes fait l’éloge d’un de ses tableaux.

Musées : Alger : La Course au bonheur – Amiens : Assassinat de Geta – Grenoble (Mus des Beaux-Arts) : La CuréeLa Mort de César – Leipzig : Odalisque – Lille (Mus. Des Beaux-Arts) : La Folie de Nabuchodonosor – Montpellier (Mus Fabre) : Préparatifs de voyage – Moulins : Le Buveur – Une aquarelle – Mulhouse : Après la danse – Paris (Mus. D’Orsay) : Le Chevalier aux fleursRue à Alexandrie – Paris (Mus. Victor Hugo) : Scène des Burgraves – Rouen : Andromaque – Sens : Vitellius traîné dans les rues

Acquis par le Musée Anne de Beaujeu

Category
E - H, Rochegrosse, Scènes de genre, Tableaux