About This Project

Zélia LENOIR
(Paris, 1842 – 1919)

 

The courtyard of the mulberry tree at the Imperial School of Fine Arts in Paris

Oil on canvas
Signed with initials and dated ‘1866’ lower left. Located ‘École des Beaux Arts’ lower right
89 x 65 cm

 

Exhibition: 1866, Salon of Paris, under the number 1205
Related work: The Orsay Museum owns the watercolour depicting the same view

 

The courtyard of the mulberry tree at the School of Fine Arts is the former cloister of the convent of Petits-Augustins, founded by the Queen Margot in the early seventeenth century. At the end of the French Revolution, the monastery is turned into the Museum of French Monuments, whose direction is entrusted to the young painter Alexandre Lenoir (1761-1839). In 1816, the Museum is closed by Louis XVIII and turned into the Royal Academy of Fine Arts; architects François Debret (1777-1850) and his brother and pupil Félix Duban (1797-1870) decided to make an Italianate buildings and neoclassical palace.

The courtyard of the mulberry tree, which is named after the mulberry tree from China planted there by Alexandre Lenoir, is to the right of the school’s main courtyard from the Rue Bonaparte; Félix Duban gave him in 1836 the pace of a Pompeian atrium, in particular implanting a central fountain. The walls of the covered gallery are decorated with a replica of the Parthenon frieze, which can be seen through the arches.

The date of execution of our painting is in the short period (1864-1870) in which the School is called “Imperial”, after “Royale” and before becoming “National”.

Zelia Flore Lenoir was the granddaughter of Alexandre Lenoir and the daughter of Albert Lenoir (1801-1891), which therefore makes her particularly linked to the history of the School of Fine Arts. His father, almost born in the former Museum of French Monuments, integrated the School of Fine Arts in 1820, taught there from 1856 as substitute of Hippolyte Lebas, and was appointed Permanent Secretary in 1862; he occupied in 1869 the architectural history professorship.

This dynastic lineage could only direct her towards an artistic activity, and we can find in the Orsay Museum different drawings made by her at the age of 14; like his father, she is a traveling artist who designs the places she stays or she visits: Normandy (Trouville in 1856, Veules les Roses in 1857, Jersey in 1869, Honfleur regularly between 1900 and 1912), Britain (Vitre in 1865, Saint-Malo in 1908), Nord Pas-de-Calais (Cayeux in 1866, Ypres in 1871, Berck in 1912), the southwest (Eaux-Bonnes in 1913), Burgundy and Franche-Comté (Clamecy in 1919 Mijoux in 1867) …

Pupil of his father and A. Bernard, she participated in 1866 in what appears to be her only official exhibition, where she is presented as resident at the Palace of Fine Arts.

In 1874, she married the architect Louis-François-Philippe Boitte (1830, Paris – 1906, Fontainebleau), who had worked some years earlier with his father, and became chief architect of the palace of Fontainebleau in 1877 (an exhibition was consecrated to his work at Orsay in 1989, including drawings made in Greece and Italy in the early 1860s).

We know from Louis Boitte a lot of studies, pencil, wash or oil (stored at the Orsay Museum), with subject the courtyard of the mulberry tree, one of them has exactly the same point of view and framing that the composition of his wife; these drawings, which seem to have been made around 1886, open the question of mutual influence between the two artists.

With this painting, Zelia Lenoir produced a work that could almost be dated at first of the 1820s; there actually emanates a mixture of “troubadour” spirit and architectural views that could be achieve at this time by painters like Bouhot Etienne and Jean-Lubin Vauzelle for examples.

Some monumentality is discernible, due to the absence of particular characters and framing the arch (in the minds of those of Louis-Pierre Baltard), softened by the calming presence of the fountain.

Category
Exhibited paintings, I - L, LENOIR, NEW ACQUISITIONS, Paintings, SIGHTS

About This Project

Zélia LENOIR
(Paris, 1842 – 1919)

 

La cour du Mûrier, à l’École Impériale des Beaux-Arts de Paris

Huile sur toile
Monogrammée ZL et datée 1866 en bas à gauche et située École des Beaux Arts en bas à droite
89 x 65 cm

 

Exposition: Salon de Paris de 1866, sous le numéro 1205
Œuvre en rapport: aquarelle de même sujet, conservée au musée d’Orsay

 

La cour dite du mûrier de l’École des Beaux-Arts correspond à l’ancien cloître du couvent des Petits-Augustins, fondé par la reine Margot au tout début du XVIIème siècle. Le couvent devient à la fin de la Révolution le musée des Monuments Français, dont la direction est confiée au jeune peintre Alexandre Lenoir (1761 – 1839). En 1816, Louis XVIII ferme le musée et affecte le lieu à l’Ecole Royale des Beaux-Arts; l’architecte François Debret (1777-1850), puis son beau-frère et élève Félix Duban (1797-1870) décident de faire des bâtiments un palais d’inspiration italienne et néo-classique.

La cour carrée du mûrier, qui doit son nom au mûrier de Chine qu’Alexandre Lenoir y planta, se situe à droite de la cour d’honneur de l’école, lorsqu’on y entre par la rue Bonaparte; Félix Duban lui donna en 1836 l’allure d’un atrium pompéien, en y implantant notamment une fontaine au centre. Les murs de la galerie couverte sont décorés par une réplique de la frise des Panathénées du Parthénon, que l’on aperçoit à travers les arcades.

La date d’exécution de notre tableau s’inscrit dans la courte période (1864-1870) où l’Ecole est dite « Impériale », après avoir été « Royale » et avant de devenir « Nationale ».

Zélia Flore Lenoir était la petite-fille d’Alexandre Lenoir et la fille d’Albert Lenoir (1801-1891), ce qui la rend donc particulièrement liée à l’histoire de l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts. Son père, quasiment né dans l’ancien musée des Monuments Français, intégra l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts en 1820, y enseigna à partir de 1856 comme suppléant d’Hippolyte Lebas, et en fut nommé Secrétaire perpétuel en 1862; il y occupa à partir de 1869 la chaire d’histoire de l’architecture.

Cette ascendance dynastique ne pouvait que la diriger vers une activité artistique, et on trouve au musée d’Orsay des dessins réalisés par elle à l’âge de 14 ans; comme son père, c’est une artiste voyageuse, qui dessine les lieux où elle séjourne ou qu’elle visite: la Normandie (Trouville en 1856, Veules les Roses en 1857, Jersey en 1869, Honfleur régulièrement entre 1900 et 1912), la Bretagne (Vitré en 1865, Saint-Malo en 1908), le Nord Pas-de-Calais (Cayeux en 1866, Ypres en 1871, Berck en 1912), le sud-ouest (Eaux-Bonnes en 1913), la Bourgogne et la Franche-Comté (Clamecy en 1919, Mijoux en 1867)…

Elève de son père et d’A. Bernard, elle participe en 1866 à ce qui semble être son unique Salon, où elle est domiciliée au Palais des Beaux-Arts.

En 1874, elle épouse l’architecte Louis-François-Philippe Boitte (1830, Paris – 1906, Fontainebleau), qui avait collaboré quelques années auparavant avec son père, et qui devint architecte en chef du palais de Fontainebleau en 1877 (une exposition lui fut consacrée à Orsay en 1989, avec notamment des dessins réalisés en Grèce et en Italie au début des années 1860).

On connaît de Louis Boitte toute une série (conservée à Orsay) d’études, au crayon, au lavis ou à l’huile, ayant pour sujet la Cour du mûrier, dont une reprend exactement les mêmes point de vue et cadrage que la composition de sa femme; ces dessins, qui semblent avoir été réalisés vers 1886, ouvrent la question des influences mutuelles entre les deux époux.

Avec ce tableau, Zélia Lenoir produit une oeuvre que l’on pourrait presque dater, au premier abord, des années 1820; il y émane effectivement un mélange d’esprit « troubadour » et de vue d’architecture tel que pouvaient le réaliser à l’époque des peintres comme Etienne Bouhot ou Jean-Lubin Vauzelle par exemples.

Une certaine monumentalité se dégage de l’ensemble, due à l’absence de personnages et au cadrage particulier de l’arcade (dans l’esprit  de ceux de Louis-Pierre Baltard), tempérée par l’exiguïté des lieux et adoucie par la présence apaisante de la fontaine.

 

Category
I - L, LENOIR, Nouveautés, Tableaux, Tableaux de Salons, Vues de sites