About This Project

Ange Louis JANET-LANGE
(Paris, 1811 – Paris, 1872)

The Amazon, Portrait of Madame de C…
Oil on canvas
Signed and dated ‘1846’ lower left
81 x 65 cm

Exhibition: 1846, Salon of Paris under the number 979

 

JANET-LANGE entered the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in 1833 where he was a pupil of Ingres, Horace Vernet and Collin. He began in the Salon of 1836 and sending 1859 was rewarded of a medal.

He painted hunting subjects, episodes of the Crimean War, Italy and Mexico. In 1846 he was commissioned by the Marshal Soult to paint a series of military uniforms.

He worked well in L’Illustration, in Journal Amusant and in Tour du Monde. He produced a number of lithographs, including several pieces of Louis Napoleon Bonaparte, working with Horace Vernet on drawings to illustrate The Napoleon’s History.

Under the Second Empire, he becomes one of the official painters of the imperial time, with prestigious commissions such as France illuminating the World actually presented in Carnavalet Museum under the title The Republic. Many of his works disappeared in the fire of the Tuileries. However, we can admire from him, at the Compiegne Museum, Napoleon III hunting pheasant, or on deposit at military club in Rennes Napoleon III at Solferino, 24 June 24 1859, which was acquired by the Emperor after being exposed to the Salon of 1861.

Ange-Louis Janet is also illustrated in the painting of history: his imposing Nero in the circus games of 4 by 6 meters (1855) has so marked the collective imagination that we find it reconstructed almost at the same 104 years later in Ben-Hur by William WYLER.

 

Museums : Paris (Carnavalet), Ajaccio, Carpentras, Chambéry, Epinal, Rochefort, Tours…

 

Sold

Category
Exhibited paintings, I - L, JANET-LANGE, Paintings, Portraits

About This Project

Ange Louis JANET dit JANET-LANGE
(Paris, 1811 – Paris, 1872)

 

L’amazone, Portrait de Madame de C…

 

Huile sur toile
Signée et datée 1846 en bas à gauche
81 x 65 cm

 

Exposition: Salon de 1846, sous le numéro 979

 

Il entra à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts en 1833 ou il fut élève de INGRES, COLLIN et Horace VERNET. Il débuta au Salon de 1836 et son envoi de 1859 fut récompensé d’une médaille.

Il a peint des sujets de chasse, des épisodes de la guerre de Crimée, d’Italie et du Mexique. En 1846, il fut chargé par le maréchal SOULT de peindre une série d’uniformes militaires.

Il collabora longtemps à L’Illustration, au Journal Amusant et au Tour du Monde. Il a produit un certain nombre de lithographies, notamment plusieurs pièces sur Louis-Napoléon BONAPARTE, collaborant avec Horace VERNET aux dessins illustrant L’Histoire de Napoléon.

Sous le Second Empire, il devient un des peintres officiels de l’épopée impériale, avec des commandes prestigieuses telles que La France illuminant le Monde conservé actuellement au Musée Carnavalet sous le titre La République. Nombre de ses œuvres disparurent dans l’incendie des Tuileries. On peut cependant admirer de lui, au Musée de Compiègne, Napoléon III chassant à tir à la faisanderie, ou en dépôt au cercle militaire de Rennes Napoléon III à Solferino, 24 juin 1859, qui fut acquis par l’Empereur après avoir été exposé au Salon de 1861.

Ange-Louis JANET s’illustra aussi dans la peinture d’histoire : son imposant Néron dans les jeux du cirque de 4 mètres sur 6 (1855) a tellement marqué l’imaginaire collectif qu’on le retrouve recomposé presqu’à l’identique 104 ans plus tard dans Ben-Hur par William WYLER.

 

Musées : Paris (Carnavalet), Ajaccio, Carpentras, Chambéry, Epinal, Rochefort, Tours…

Category
I - L, JANET-LANGE, Nouveautés, Portraits, Tableaux, Tableaux de Salons