About This Project

Auguste LEBOUYS
(Honfleur, 1812 – Nemours, 1854)

 

The knight of Bois-Guilbert going to the castle of Cedric the Saxon (father of Ivanhoe)

Oil on canvas
Signed and dated ‘1837’ lower right
67 x 100 cm

 

This Norman painter was a student of Paul Delaroche, which probably explains his taste for historical theme painting. He presented the Grand Prix de Rome for painting in 1840, and he came second behind Brisset, the subject is to illustrate Caius Gracchus; he persevered in 1841 and was the winner this time with The Joseph gown brought to Jacob. The painting (1.13 x 1.46 m) is exposed at the National School of Fine Arts of Paris, while the Musée Magnin in Dijon houses a painted study. Lebouys (or Lebouy, both spellings exist) exhibited at the Salon two paintings devoted to Marie Antoinette: Queen Marie Antoinette in the Conciergerie (No. 1225), and Kindness trait of Queen Marie-Antoinette (No. 1226) ; he also exhibited at the Salon of 1853 (3rd Medal) The harbor of Havre, taken from the place of Honfleur, while he was residing at 3, rue Mazarine in Paris. But Lebouys is especially famous in the religious painting: thus we find a painting in the town hall of Orleans, the death of St. Paul the Hermit, executed in Rome around 1842 to 1843 under the direction of Jean-Victor Schnetz, an Assumption realised in 1841 preserved in the town hall of Monteroux, two paintings (ordered in 1850) in the Calvary chapel in the church of Saint Nicolas du Chardonnet (Our Lady of sorrows), a painting in the sacristy of the church of Notre Dame des Champs in Montparnasse. In the mythological register, the Princeton Museum of Art keeps a Bacchus and Ariadne, whose composition approximates somewhat from our painting.

Lebouys had a daughter, Catherine, born in Rome around 1847, who made an interesting career as a violinist.

‘Ivanhoe’, the medieval historical novel by Walter Scott raised, soon after its release in 1820, the interest of the artists of the new generation of Romantics, who saw an alternative to traditional subjects. Leon Cogniet painted in 1828 Rebecca kidnapped by Bois-Guilbert, now preserved in the Wallace Collection in London, in a rather romantic vein; Edouard Pingret also realized a representative version of Rebecca in 1827, in a ‘troubadour’ style; about Eugène Delacroix, he had in 1823 produced a depiction of Rebecca and injured Ivanhoe before painting The kidnapping of Rebecca in 1846 (the Met in New York), or Rebecca kidnapped by Templars in 1856 (Louvre).

Our painting is one of the first episodes of the novel. A group of ten Norman knights cross the immense forest of central England between Doncaster and Sheffield; led by Aymer (the Prior rather ribald of the Abbey of Jorvaulx) and the Knight Brian de Bois-Guilbert (a monk soldier commander of the Templars), they go by road to the castle of Cedric de Rotherwood ( Cedric the Saxon), the father of Ivanhoe. They are preparing to ask directions to the two figures in the foreground, Saxons at the Cedric service. To the left is the swineherd said Gurth, while his companion Wamba, dressed in red, is the clown of Cedric. The weather is stormy, and the two men began to gather the herd of pigs.

Lebouys shows in this painting his belonging to the illustrators painters of historical literature. He demonstrated a real talent as a colourist, with very probable collaboration Jules Coignet (1798-1860) for the landscape, recognizable in the treatment of the tree and sky. The two men had perhaps met in Honfleur, where Coignet was for example in 1831.We know another painting done with four hands, Coignet signed with the date 1835 and Lebouys with the date 1837 passed on sale at Christie’s (26/09/1997) entitled European Travellers ambushed in a forest.

 

Category
I - L, LEBOUYS, NEW ACQUISITIONS, Paintings, Scene genre

About This Project

Auguste LEBOUYS
(Honfleur, 1812 – Nemours, 1854)

 

Le Chevalier de Bois-Guilbert se rendant au château de Cédric le Saxon (père d’Ivanhoé)

Huile sur toile
Signée et datée « 1837 » en bas à droite
67 x 100 cm

 

Ce peintre normand fut l’élève de Paul Delaroche, ce qui explique probablement son goût pour la peinture à thème historique. Il se présenta au Grand Prix de Rome de Peinture en 1840, et s’y classa deuxième derrière Brisset, le sujet à illustrer étant Caïus Gracchus ; il persévéra en 1841, et fut cette fois le lauréat avec La Robe de Joseph présentée à Jacob. Le tableau, de dimensions 1,13 x 1,46 m, est conservé à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, alors que le Musée Magnin de Dijon en abrite une étude peinte. Lebouys (ou Lebouy, les deux orthographes existent) exposa au Salon deux tableaux consacrés à Marie-Antoinette : La reine Marie-Antoinette à la Conciergerie (N°1225), et Trait de bonté de la reine Marie-Antoinette (N°1226) ; il exposa aussi au Salon de 1853 (3ème médaille) La rade du Havre de Grâce, prise depuis la place d’Honfleur, alors qu’il était domicilié au 3, rue Mazarine à Paris. Mais c’est surtout dans la peinture religieuse que s’illustra Lebouys : on trouve ainsi une huile sur toile à la mairie d’Orléans, La mort de Saint Paul ermite, exécutée à Rome vers 1842/43 sous la direction de Jean-Victor Schnetz, une Assomption de 1841 conservée à la mairie de Monteroux dans le Var, deux peintures (commandées en 1850) dans la chapelle du calvaire de l’église Saint Nicolas du Chardonnet (Notre Dame des douleurs), une peinture dans la sacristie de l’église Notre-Dame des Champs à Montparnasse. Dans le registre mythologique, le Princeton Museum of Art conserve un Bacchus et Ariane, dont la composition se rapproche quelque peu de celle de notre tableau.

Lebouys eut une fille, Catherine, née à Rome vers 1847, qui réalisa une intéressante carrière de violoniste.

« Ivanhoe », le roman historique médiéval de Walter Scott suscita, rapidement après sa parution en 1820, l’intérêt des artistes de la nouvelle génération romantique, qui y virent une alternative aux sujets traditionnels. Léon Cogniet peignit ainsi en 1828 Rebecca enlevée par Bois-Guilbert, aujourd’hui conservé à la Wallace Collection de Londres, dans une veine plutôt romantique ; Edouard Pingret réalisa aussi une version représentant Rebecca, en 1827, dans un style plus « troubadour » ; quant à Eugène Delacroix, il avait dès 1823 produit une représentation de Rebecca et Ivanhoe blessé, avant de peindre L’enlèvement de Rebecca en 1846 (Met de New-York), ou Rebecca enlevée par les Templiers en 1856 (Louvre).

Notre tableau représente un des tous premiers épisodes du roman. Un groupe d’une dizaine de cavaliers normands traverse l’immense forêt du centre de l’Angleterre entre Doncaster et Sheffield ; menés par Aymer (le prieur plutôt paillard de l’abbaye de Jorvaulx) et par le Chevalier Brian de Bois-Guilbert (un moine soldat commandant de l’ordre des Templiers), ils se rendent par la route au château de Cédric de Rotherwood (Cédric le Saxon), le père d’Ivanhoe. Ils s’apprêtent à demander leur chemin aux deux personnages du premier plan, des saxons au service de Cédric. A gauche, Gurth est un porcher, tandis que son compagnon Wamba, vêtu de rouge, est le bouffon de Cédric. Le temps est à l’orage, et les deux hommes ont commencé à rassembler le troupeau de cochons.

Lebouys manifeste dans cette toile son appartenance au courant des peintres illustrateurs d’œuvres littéraires historiques. Il y fait preuve d’un réel talent de coloriste, avec la très vraisemblable collaboration de Jules Coignet (1798-1860) pour le paysage, bien reconnaissable dans le traitement de l’arbre et du ciel. Les deux hommes s’étaient peut-être rencontrés à Honfleur, où Coignet se trouvait par exemple en 1831.On connaît un autre tableau réalisé à quatre mains, signé Coignet avec la date 1835, et Lebouys avec la date 1837, passé en vente chez Christie’s (26/09/1997) sous le titre Voyageurs européens pris en embuscade dans une forêt.

Category
I - L, LEBOUYS, Nouveautés, Scènes de genre, Tableaux