About This Project

Antoine Claude PONTHUS-CINIER
(Lyon, 1812 – Lyon, 1885)

 

The Villa d’Este in Tivoli

 

Oil on canvas mounted on canvas
Stamp lower left
31 x 22 cm

 

Provenance: number 39 of the catalog of the sale after death of the artist, Lyon, room N ° 2 of the auction house, 23/28 March 1885

 

Ponthus-Cinier belongs to what could be defined as the third (and so to speak) generation of neo-classical or historical landscape, born in the 1810s / 1820s, such as Félix Lanoue, Achilles Benouville, Paul Flandrin, Eugène Ferdinand Buttura or Alfred de Curzon. More particularly, he is considered as the principal and the most popular representative of the landscapers of the Lyons school around the mid-nineteenth century.

With a generous, honest personality and pleasant company, Ponthus-Cinier came from a family of merchants on his mother’s side and magistrates on his father’s side; intended for trade by his parents, he preferred the artistic way, and after an enrollment at the School of Fine Arts in Lyon in 1829, and a Parisian training with Paul Delaroche, he exhibited his first works at the Salon de Lyon in 1839 , before participating in that of Paris in 1841.

That same year, he received the second prize of Rome of the historical landscape (won by Buttura in 1837, and Benouville in 1845), beaten by the Versaillais Félix-Hippolyte Lanoue. To improve himself, Ponthus-Cinier decided to go to Italy, alone and at his own expense, for a single stay between 1842 and 1844; he discovered the Ligurian coast, Tuscany, Naples, of course Rome and its surroundings, and executed a considerable amount of studies (painted sketches or pen sketches) which served to compose views of Italy throughout his life. career.

The main qualities of Ponthus-Cinier probably lie in “the art of lighting a canvas” as A. Jouve wrote in the nineteenth century, and in its sense of perspective, sometimes really extraordinary; on the other hand, it seems, for the most part, a little less brilliant in figures and in the transcription of details. As for the style of his drawings in brown wash, raised in white, but in rather dark tones, he is recognizable among all.

 

Tivoli, located about thirty kilometers from Rome, is home to the Villa d’Este, a jewel of Italian architecture that was built by Ligorio at the end of the 16th century for Cardinal Hippolyte II d’Este (from the Borgia family ); the buildings, but especially the gardens, offering a multitude of fountains, basins, caves, terraces, are mythical.

In the first half of the 19th century, the site was very degraded, consequence of its progressive abandonment since the middle of the XVIIIth century; it was not until 1851, under the impetus of Gustave de Hohenlohe, that the villa was restored and acquired a status of cultural high place, with for example frequent stays of Franz Liszt. The place became after the 1st World War property of the Italian state, which took charge of the continuation of the rehabilitation.

 

The point of view adopted by Ponthus-Cinier is that of the visitor who had just entered the gardens of the villa by a door overlooking the road to Rome, a few tens of meters before the gateway into the city of Tivoli. The alley framed by monumental cypresses, with a long perspective on a north / south axis, leads to the palace located high up; from above, you can see the Fountain of Dragons above the steps, the shell of the Bicchierone fountain, and the large loggia built on two levels.

The view, one of the most iconic for the representation of the site, but here more “open” because slightly shifted to the right, allows to place the cypresses in the center of the composition and visualize the arc located at the end of the terrace Vialone. It is, in particular, very close to an oil on panel (41 x 30 cm) of William Collins (1788-1847) executed around 1837 and kept at the Victoria & Albert Museum, an oil (46 x 32 cm) from 1841 Edward Lear (1812-1888), a watercolor by Achille Benouville (1815-1891) dated 1861 and an oil (40 x 32 cm) of the same Benouville dated 1868.

We also know watercolors of this view by Robert-Henry Cheney (1801-1866), Thomas Cromek (1809-1873) and Charles Vacher (1818-1883), made in a vein less neoclassical; a little later, the Italian Ettore Roesler Franz (1845-1907) will produce a number of representations of the villa d’Este.

 

It is difficult to date with certainty our painting, as Ponthus-Cinier produced “Italian” subjects until his death and where stylistically the work can correspond as well to the 1840s and 1860s (see Benouville); however, the small format and the incredible rendering of the Italian light may suggest a painted study done in-situ, and therefore during the Italian stay of 1842-1844.

Three works composed the number 39 of the sale of the collection of Ponthus-Cinier, all of the same size, and bearing the following titles, as vague as the others, according to a frequent habit in the catalogs of sale: Temple in Tivoli , Landscape, Trees and temple. Our table would be rather the first or the third batch.

Category
M - P, Paintings, PONTHUS-CINIER, SIGHTS

About This Project

Antoine Claude PONTHUS-CINIER
(Lyon, 1812 – Lyon, 1885)

 

La Villa d’Este à Tivoli

 

Huile sur toile marouflée sur toile
Cachet d’atelier en bas à gauche
31 x 22 cm

 

Provenance: numéro 39 du catalogue de la vente après-décès de l’artiste, Lyon, salle N°2 de l’hôtel des commissaires-priseurs, 23/28 mars 1885

 

Ponthus-Cinier appartient à ce que l’on pourrait définir comme la troisième (et pour ainsi dire dernière) génération des paysagistes néo-classiques ou historiques, nés dans les années 1810/1820, comme Félix Lanoue, Achille Benouville, Paul Flandrin, Eugène Ferdinand Buttura ou encore Alfred de Curzon. Plus particulièrement, il est considéré comme le principal et le plus populaire représentant des paysagistes de l’école lyonnaise autour du milieu du XIXème siècle.

D’une personnalité généreuse, honnête, et d’agréable compagnie, Ponthus-Cinier était issu d’une famille de négociants du côté de sa mère et de magistrats du côté paternel; destiné au commerce par ses parents, il préféra la voie artistique, et après une inscription à l’école des beaux-arts de Lyon en 1829, et une formation parisienne auprès de Paul Delaroche, il exposa ses premières œuvres au Salon de Lyon de 1839, avant de participer à celui de Paris en 1841.

Cette même année, il reçut le deuxième prix de Rome du paysage historique (remporté par Buttura en 1837, et Benouville en 1845), battu par le Versaillais Félix-Hippolyte Lanoue. Pour se perfectionner, Ponthus-Cinier décida alors de partir en Italie, seul et à ses frais, pour un unique séjour entre 1842 et 1844; il découvrit la côte ligure, la Toscane, Naples, bien évidemment Rome et ses environs, et exécuta une quantité considérable d’études (esquisses peintes ou croquis à la plume) qui lui servirent à composer des vues d’Italie tout au long de sa carrière.

Les qualités principales de Ponthus-Cinier résident probablement dans « l’art d’éclairer une toile » comme l’écrit A. Jouve au XIXème siècle, et dans son sens de la perspective, parfois réellement extraordinaires; il semble en revanche, la plupart du temps, un peu moins brillant dans les figures et dans la transcription des détails. Quant au style de ses dessins au lavis brun, rehaussés de blanc, mais dans des tons assez sombres, il est reconnaissable entre tous.

 

Tivoli, situé à une trentaine de kilomètres de Rome, abrite la Villa d’Este, un joyau de l’architecture italienne qui fut construite par Ligorio à la fin du XVIème siècle pour le cardinal Hippolyte II d’Este (de la famille des Borgia); les bâtiments, mais surtout les jardins, proposant une multitude de fontaines, bassins, grottes, terrasses, sont mythiques.

Dans la première moitié du XIXème siècle, le site était très dégradé, conséquence de son abandon progressif depuis le milieu du XVIIIème siècle; ce n’est qu’en 1851, sous l’impulsion de Gustave de Hohenlohe, que la villa fut restaurée et acquis alors un statut de haut lieu culturel, avec par exemple de fréquents séjours de Franz Liszt. Le lieu devint après la 1ère guerre mondiale propriété de l’état italien, qui prit en charge la suite de la réhabilitation.

 

Le point de vue adopté par Ponthus-Cinier est celui du visiteur qui venait d’entrer dans les jardins de la villa par une porte donnant sur la route de Rome, quelques dizaines de mètres avant la porte d’entrée dans la cité de Tivoli. L’allée encadrée de cyprès monumentaux, avec une longue perspective sur un axe nord/sud, mène jusqu’au palais situé en hauteur; on reconnaît ainsi, de bas en haut, la fontaine des Dragons située au-dessus des marches, la coquille de la fontaine du Bicchierone, et la grande loggia construite sur deux niveaux.

La vue, une des plus iconiques pour la représentation du site, mais ici plus « ouverte » car légèrement décalée vers la droite, permet de placer les cyprès au centre de la composition et de visualiser l’arc situé à l’extrémité de la terrasse du Vialone. Elle est, notamment, très proche d’une huile sur panneau (41 x 30 cm) de William Collins (1788-1847) exécutée vers 1837 et conservée au Victoria & Albert Museum, d’une huile (46 x 32 cm) de 1841 d’Edward Lear (1812-1888), d’une aquarelle d’Achille Benouville (1815-1891) datée 1861 ainsi que d’une huile (40 x 32 cm) du même Benouville datée 1868.

On connait aussi des aquarelles de cette vue par Robert-Henry Cheney (1801-1866), Thomas Cromek (1809-1873) et Charles Vacher (1818-1883), réalisées dans une veine moins néo-classique; un peu plus tard, l’italien Ettore Roesler Franz (1845-1907) produira en nombre des représentations de la villa d’Este.

 

Il est difficile de dater avec certitude notre peinture, dans la mesure où Ponthus-Cinier produisit des sujets « italiens » jusqu’à sa mort et où stylistiquement l’oeuvre peut correspondre aussi bien aux années 1840 que 1860 (cf Benouville); toutefois, le petit format et l’incroyable restitution de la lumière italienne peuvent laisser penser à une étude peinte réalisée in-situ, et donc lors du séjour italien de 1842-1844.

Trois œuvres composaient le numéro 39 de la vente de la collection de Ponthus-Cinier, toutes de la même dimension, et portant les titres suivants, aussi vagues les uns que les autres, selon une habitude fréquente dans les catalogues de vente: Temple à Tivoli, Paysage, Arbres et temple. Notre tableau correspondrait plutôt au premier ou au troisième lot.

Category
M - P, PONTHUS-CINIER, Tableaux, Vues de sites